1. Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

    We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

    Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

2018 U.S. Women's Open TV Schedule and Tournament Notes

Discussion in 'Golf News' started by Dogfish Head, May 30, 2018.

  1. Dogfish Head

    Dogfish Head Well-Known Member TEA is my HERO

    Apr 8, 2012
    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    Huntsville, AL
    United States United States
    Admin Post
    By USGA

    THE 2018 U.S. WOMEN'S OPEN at Shoal Creek in Alabama will receive at least 20 hours of live network coverage. Fox will air 10 hours of coverage on the weekend. FS1 will air 10 hours over the first two days of play. All times EDT.

    Date/Day Time Network Program
    May 31/Thursday 3-8 p.m. FS1 First Round
    June 1/Friday 3-8 p.m. FS1 Second Round
    June 2/Saturday 2-7 p.m. Fox Third Round
    June 3/Sunday 2-7 p.m. Fox Fourth Round

    Live Streaming Coverage
    The 2018 U.S. Women's Open will receive at least 24 hours of live streaming coverage on usga.org.

    What the Winner Receives
    The champion will receive a gold medal, custody of the Harton S. Semple Trophy for the ensuing year and an exemption from qualifying for the next 10 U.S. Women’s Open Championships.

    2018 Champion
    23-year-old Sung Hyun Park from the Republic of Korea won her first major championship at Trump National Golf Club, finishing two strokes better than amateur Hye-Jin Choi.

    Title Defense
    Since 1991, two players have successfully defended their championship (Annika Sorenstam, 1996; Karrie Webb, 2001), and only three other players have finished in the top 10 in the championship following their victory (Juli Inkster, 2002; Patty Sheehan, 1992; Meg Mallon, 1991).

    Championship History
    This is the 73rd U.S. Women's Open Championship. The first U.S. Women's Open, played at Spokane (Wash.) Country Club in 1946, was the only one conducted at match play. The Women's Professional Golfers Association (WPGA) conducted the inaugural championship, won by Patty Berg. The WPGA conducted the Women’s Open until 1949, when the newly formed Ladies Professional Golf Association (LPGA) took over operation of the championship. The LPGA ran the Women's Open for four years but in 1953 asked the United States Golf Association to conduct the championship, which it has done ever since.

    The youngest winner of the U.S. Women's Open is Inbee Park, who won the 2008 championship at the age of 19 years, 11 months, 18 days. Babe Didrikson Zaharias, who won the 1954 Women's Open at age 43 years, 6 months, is the oldest winner.

    In 1967, Catherine Lacoste, daughter of French tennis player Rene Lacoste and 1927 British Ladies Amateur champion Simone Thion de la Chaume, became the only amateur to win the U.S. Women's Open. Seven other amateurs – most recently Hye-Jin Choi in 2017 – have finished as runner(s)-up.


    Source: 2018 U.S. Women's Open TV Schedule and Tournament Notes

Share This Page