• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

eclark... talk to me

nututhugame

Winter Sucks!
Supporting Member
Dec 29, 2008
Southeast Wisconsin
Country
United States United States
I have never hunted before, but am looking to do that next season. Being as i've never done it before I am looking to keep my investment pretty minimal until I know if I love it or not. That said I am looking to get a rifle (entry level) and would love to hear your thoughts. I've looked at the Savage Axis, Rem. 770, and some other comparables. Have already found out that the Rem. is pretty much junk because the trigger guard is one piece molded w/the stock and cannot be dissasembled for any cleaning or lubing. Any ramblings on your part are certainly welcomed if not expected, but remember I am looking at an entry level investment.

eclark53520

DB Member Extraordinaire
Supporting Member
Dec 24, 2007
South Central Wisconsin
Country
Here's my opinion on 'entry level' investments. You're either going to love hunting, or hate it. If you buy a 770/axis and love hunting, you WILL want a better rifle. Good luck selling a 770 or axis on the used market. Most people looking for used guns don't want them, and the people who are, want them at about half or less what they retail for. Which means you're pretty much stuck with it. If you hate hunting, you will want to get rid of the rifle...in which case, you're in the same situation.