• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Goals in golf

csmartin85

Aug 26, 2012
This is my first post so I'll introduce myself. My name is Christian and I'm 20. I started playing golf over the summer at my uncles encouragement, after shooting a 95 my first time playing. Since then, all I've wanted to do is play golf. I set a goal for myself: to break par within a year of playing. My uncle has played for as long as I can remember and he made it seem like doing so would be near impossible, but I'm getting better each time I play. I've made sure not to fudge my score and to not cheat in anyway, because the only one I'd be cheating is myself. I'll drop a second ball after a bad shot, but I always play and count my first shot.

Anyway, my first few rounds were in the 90-100 range. I play from the tips. I eventually broke 90 with a round of 88 about 3 weeks ago, and I've yet to shoot over 85 since then. I've stopped shanking the ball, my drives have gone from 200 yards with a massive hook to anywhere from 250-325 and straight. My short game was originally my strong suit and that hasn't changed much. My putting speed is normally good and the 3-putt is very rare for me now. The only thing I'm still trying to work out is my 3 wood, I'm either topping it terribly or blocking my shots out far to the right. My 5-9 irons are normally very solid, and my longer irons are coming along.

Sorry that this turned out to be a long post, but I'm curious. Is the goal of breaking par within a year realistic? I've currently played 16 full rounds of golf. I played today and shot 80, but it could have been a lot better had I not rushed to accomodate a group behind me. What goals do you guys have, or what goals did you start out with? Did you meet them or change them as time went on?