• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Hitting with a 3 Iron

Rookie_Golfer

Mar 7, 2006
Hi,

I am new on here, and I am a rookie golfer. I have been playing for about a year now, and I really enjoyed playing golf now since I started playing. I just bought a new set of Nike Slingshot Irons last summer, and my golf game is improving as I spend more time practicing. My question is about hitting with my 3 and 4 Nike Slingshot Irons. I have a difficult time hitting these two irons without a tee. Is there something that I am doing wrong? My shots would sink and bounce on the ground when hitting with these 2 irons. Any help would be appreciated. Thank You...

Rookie Golfer

Rockford35

Shark skin shoes
Staff member
Admin
Aug 30, 2004
Canada
Country
Canada Canada
RG,

Don't be intimidated by this. Long irons are the bane of many golfer's existence. That's why they brought out high number fairways woods, and more recently, hybrids.

Your long iron game will come with time with confidence, practice and a good sense of your own swing. You'll soon start to figure out swing faults and correct them slowly.

However, if you feel as tho your game needs those long irons, I recommend trying the new hybrids. They're just alot easier and instill confidence in even the best golfers. Hell, I play to about a 5 handicap, and I'm thinking of going back to one! :D

But, if you're a purist, and you want to learn how to hit those bloody, gawd-awful sun'sa-beatches, have your local pro give you a few lessons. That time with him/her will be worth it's weight in gold. They will be able to better instruct you with some hands on and confidence building practice strategies that will benefit your game on the whole.