1. Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

    We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

    Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

How do I get a pic that's too large to upload?

Discussion in 'Website Q&A' started by nututhugame, Mar 13, 2012.

  1. nututhugame

    nututhugame Winter Sucks! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,939
    Likes Received:
    1,351
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Southeast Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States United States
    Can't figure out how to get some pics uploaded. It tells me the file is too large. What do I do?
     
  2. eclark53520

    eclark53520 DB Member Extraordinaire Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    7,355
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    South Central Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States United States
    Go grab a photobucket or imageshack account. Upload them there and use the img tags to show them here
     
  3. Rockford35

    Rockford35 Shark skin shoes Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    21,796
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada Canada
    Or download a conversion program like Irfanview. It's free, works on just about anything and allows you to batch process multiple files with the same function. So, you can take a whole folder and do them all at once in about 10 seconds.

    R35
     
  4. nututhugame

    nututhugame Winter Sucks! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,939
    Likes Received:
    1,351
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Southeast Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States United States
    WTF? I converted them, got two uploaded and then I tried a couple more and it just fails. No explanation.
     
  5. nututhugame

    nututhugame Winter Sucks! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,939
    Likes Received:
    1,351
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Southeast Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States United States
    Rock, how the ef do you use this irfanview?
     
  6. Rockford35

    Rockford35 Shark skin shoes Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    21,796
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada Canada
    What do you need to know?

    If you just want to resize, go to Image->Resample/Resize. That opens a dialogue box that you can dictate the parameters of your new image. There's a pull down on the right where you can do some standard dimensions. Be sure to set your DPI on the bottom left to something decent, like 150 or higher. I leave the Perserve Aspect ratio and Apply Sharpen checked, but it's up to you.

    Fool around with some settings, see what looks best. Remember, the ST software will resample it again when you upload it, so you don't have to be Picasso. You just wanna get the point across.

    R35
     
  7. nututhugame

    nututhugame Winter Sucks! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,939
    Likes Received:
    1,351
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Southeast Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States United States
    Yeah, converted the files to jpeg (I think) with the batch whatever. then I resize it like you described and it still wont upload. I'm doing something wrong or have done something wrong and I can't figure out what.
     
  8. nututhugame

    nututhugame Winter Sucks! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,939
    Likes Received:
    1,351
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Southeast Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States United States
    alright, I think I figured this out.
     
  9. BigJim13

    BigJim13 Well-Known Member Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    11,707
    Likes Received:
    3,026
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Good! Keep us posted. I got your PM, and while I am not the most Technically savvy net person, I will try to help!
     
  10. eclark53520

    eclark53520 DB Member Extraordinaire Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    17,301
    Likes Received:
    7,355
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    South Central Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States United States
    lmao...all this and you could have just uploaded them to photobucket and linked....maximum 10 minutes(that's assuming you took a 7 minute nap)
     
  11. Rockford35

    Rockford35 Shark skin shoes Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    21,796
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada Canada
    Clarke,

    Irfanview is an extremely easy product to use - once you have used it. Next time, he'll be twice as fast. And the third time, he'll be able to see through time.

    I have a Photobucket account too. Sometimes, it takes for-ever to upload stuff there. Not sure why, but it does. I like it for some things, but not all.

    R35
     
  12. nututhugame

    nututhugame Winter Sucks! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,939
    Likes Received:
    1,351
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Southeast Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States United States
    I'm just not used to the language of irfanview, don't really deal with stuff like that too often. I wish it was a little clearer on where. The "batch" was going after you've done the work to it. I had to put it somewhere that I could get to from the browse tab in manage attachements, then I was good. Took a while to figure out that it doesn't just overwrite what's in the folder in "my pics". You have to do that seperately.
     
  13. Rockford35

    Rockford35 Shark skin shoes Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    21,796
    Likes Received:
    1,072
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada Canada
    You can define the source folder that you want the new pics in, or have them in the original folder. You can rename the results with a similar name (pic_1, pic_2, pic_3....) or have the original name with a definer on the end (IMG245_New) for examples.

    You can also set it to replace the original, but that sucks when you resample something and it looks like shit. Now where are you? Always rename them as a modified version, then go and delete the originals after they've been verified.

    That program is extremely handy. It handles just about any format and exports to just about anything too. You can do a bit of labelling and drawing too, but that aspect BLOWS.

    R35
     
  14. nututhugame

    nututhugame Winter Sucks! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,939
    Likes Received:
    1,351
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Southeast Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States United States
    The problem I had was that the changes I made(resizing) would go right back to original size as soon as I went to another pic. I was trying to make a batch chang to the whole folder, but the change doesn't stay permanent unless you rename, start a new folder, or put the changed files somewhere. I'm sure it's me. I'm an idiot about a lot of computer stuff. I just have to learn it better.
     
  15. thekid65

    thekid65 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    406
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Don't know if you resolved this or not, but re-sizing pictures is fairly simple with MS paint. So you really dont need any other program.

    Open picture with MS paint

    Click Image

    Click resize/skew

    Adjust %'s to desired size, click OK

    Close picture, paint will ask you if you want to save changes, obviously say yes.

    Now, if you want to save that resized picture, and also the original you'll need to click File, then save as in order to save it as a separate picture.
     
  16. nututhugame

    nututhugame Winter Sucks! Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2008
    Messages:
    4,939
    Likes Received:
    1,351
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Location:
    Southeast Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States United States
    I did actually figure it out, however your way sounds pretty easy. I'll have to check it out. You can check the pics out in the classifieds... it's the one for the Ping S59's. Shameless plug I know, but worth a try.
     

Share This Page