• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

I want some distance

titaniummd

Aug 26, 2006
I am a beginner and I am beginning to mishit a lot less. Maybe 5 - 8 shots in a bucket of 60 balls.

I do want to eventually hit as far as the rest of the golfers on this board (ie 180 yard 5i and 280 yd drive). However, if I swing harder, I goof up a lot more. I usually have a slow to moderate takeaway and then swing to a moderate tempo. How do I improve the efficiency of increasing clubhead speed but maintain accuracy? Is that what it will take to improve distance?

ezra76

Feb 5, 2006
Well first of all I suppose strenth and size have something to do with it. I am thin at 6ft. and a little under 160lbs. I do have good flexibility and have been moving furniture for 10yrs., so I have some strength, especially in the forearms.
I have lost weight and strength since I started out but hit the ball further and more accurately due to swing improvements. The biggest factor in my book is to just hit the ball with the face square and catch it dead center on the face. My longest drives have been produced with a smoother swing. When I try to really "hit" the ball, bad things happen. When I swing though it and just let it get in the way of the club, that's when I get them out there.

I would say you are on track with a slow to medium speed takeaway.

warbirdlover

Ender of all threads
Supporting Member
Jul 9, 2005
central Wisconsin
Country
United States United States