1. Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

    We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

    Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Joe Passov to Receive ASGCA Donald Ross Award

Discussion in 'Golf News' started by Dogfish Head, Dec 4, 2018.

  1. Dogfish Head

    Dogfish Head Well-Known Member TEA is my HERO

    Apr 8, 2012
    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    Huntsville, AL
    United States United States
    Admin Post
    Award-winning golf writer has had more than 2,000 articles published in nearly 100 publications in North America, the U.K. and Asia

    BROOKFIELD, Wis. – Joe Passov, Golf Writers Association of America-award winning golf journalist, has been chosen as the 2019 recipient of the ASGCA Donald Ross Award. The award, given annually since 1976, is presented to a person who has made a significant contribution to the game of golf and the profession of golf course architecture. It will be presented to Passov in May as part of the 2019 ASGCA Annual Meeting in Phoenix-Scottsdale, Arizona.

    "Joe is among a small group of true golf writers--in contrast to the scores of golf critics--who are communicating about golf courses today. He's the rare journalist who understands the history, culture and strategy of the game and is producing thoughtful pieces that help the golfing public understand what golf course architects do," said ASGCA President Jeff Blume. "Joe's insight and creativity stand out in today's quick-hitting news cycle, and ASGCA wants to recognize his commitment to his craft."

    Passov specializes in writing about golf travel and golf course architecture. He has researched and written more than 300 articles on classic courses and architects, including features on Alister MacKenzie, A.W. Tillinghast, Perry Maxwell and of course, Donald Ross. He has interviewed nearly every top modern architect, and has had the pleasure of teeing it up with more than 40 ASGCA members. Perhaps best known for his popular "Travelin' Joe" and "Eye on Design" columns in GOLF Magazine, Passov has had more than 2,000 articles published in nearly 100 publications in North America, the U.K. and Asia.

    Formerly Editor-in-Chief of LINKS Magazine and prior to that appointment, a senior staff editor at three other major national golf publications, Passov has written about golf and related topics for The New York Times, the Los Angeles Times, Sports Illustrated and Men's Health, among other publications. He has also served as Contributing Editor at Golf Travel China and Golf Travel Korea.

    Passov graduated from the University of Arizona in 1984 and received his law degree from the University of Nebraska in 1988. He lives in Cave Creek, Arizona, with his wife Betsy, whose favorite courses are Cypress Point and Ballybunion. Passov's sister Lori is married to fellow Arizonan Ken Kavanaugh, ASGCA.

    The Donald Ross Award is presented by the ASGCA Awards Committee, co-chaired by ASGCA Past Presidents Steve Smyers, ASGCA, and Rees Jones, ASGCA Fellow (the 2013 Donald Ross Award recipient). For more information on ASGCA, visit www.asgca.org, call (262) 786-5960 or e-mail info@asgca.org.

    Past Donald Ross Award Recipients
    2018 President George Herbert Walker Bush, U.S. president
    2017 Alice Dye, ASGCA Fellow, golf course architect
    2016 Michael Bamberger, golf writer
    2015 Bradley S. Klein, golf writer
    2014 Maj. Dan Rooney, founder, Folds of Honor Foundation
    2013 Rees Jones, ASGCA, golf course architect
    2012 Bill Kubly, golf course builder
    2011 James Dodson, golf writer/editor
    2010 Tim Finchem, PGA Tour Commissioner
    2009 Ron Dodson, sustainable golf advocate
    2008 George Peper, golf writer
    2007 Dr. Michael Hurdzan, ASGCA, golf course architect
    2006 Jim Awtrey, chief executive officer, PGA of America
    2005 John Singleton, irrigation pioneer
    2004 Thomas Cousins, philanthropist, urban golf developer
    2003 Bill Campbell, president, USGA, captain, Royal & Ancient Golf Club
    2002 Byron Nelson, professional golfer
    2001 Jack Nicklaus, ASGCA, professional golfer, golf course architect
    2000 Jaime Ortiz-Patino, owner and president, Valderrama Golf Club
    1999 Arnold Palmer, professional golfer
    1998 Judy Bell, president, USGA
    1997 Gene Sarazen, professional golfer
    1996 Ron Whitten, golf writer
    1995 Pete Dye, ASGCA, golf course architect
    1994 James R. Watson, agronomist
    1993 Brent Wadsworth, golf course builder
    1992 Paul Fullmer, ASGCA executive secretary
    1991 Michael Bonallack, secretary, Royal & Ancient Golf Club
    1990 John Zoller, executive director, Northern California Golf Association
    1989 Dick Taylor, editor, Golf World magazine
    1988 Frank Hannigan, executive director, USGA
    1987 Charles Price, writer, Golf World magazine
    1986 Deane Beman, commissioner, PGA Tour
    1985 Peter Dobereiner, London Observer columnist, author
    1984 Dinah Shore, sponsor of women’s golf tournaments
    1983 Al Radko, director, USGA Green Section
    1982 Geoffrey Cornish, ASGCA, golf course architect, historian
    1981 James Rhodes, governor of Ohio
    1980 Gerald Micklem, captain, Royal & Ancient
    1979 Joe Dey, executive director, USGA
    1978 Herb and Joe Graffis, founders, National Golf Foundation
    1977 Herbert Warren Wind, The New Yorker columnist, author
    1976 Robert Trent Jones, ASGCA, ASGCA founding member

    Source: Joe Passov to Receive ASGCA Donald Ross Award

Share This Page