1. Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

    We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

    Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

New Rule Changes (1 January 2019)

Discussion in 'General Golf Talk' started by TheTrueReview, Mar 12, 2018.

  1. TheTrueReview

    TheTrueReview "Playing it straight" Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    7,403
    Likes Received:
    5,008
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Country:
    Australia Australia
    I like them, except for the reduced search time. I think it should stay at five minutes.

    Thoughts?

    ImageUploadedByShot Talk1520899634.399911.
     
  2. limpalong

    limpalong Mental Ward Escapee Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    10,269
    Likes Received:
    9,928
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    I forgot!
    Country:
    United States United States
    I like 'em.
     
    TheTrueReview likes this.
  3. warbirdlover

    warbirdlover Ender of all threads Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,154
    Likes Received:
    3,787
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    central Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States United States
    I don't like slow searches. It's only a golf ball. So I like that rule.
     
  4. J.P.C.

    J.P.C. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    651
    Trophy Points:
    243
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    Country:
    South Africa South Africa
    Like the flag stick rule - specially when one plays in a two ball - will speed up the round even more. Knee height drop is also a good one.
     
  5. TheTrueReview

    TheTrueReview "Playing it straight" Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    7,403
    Likes Received:
    5,008
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Country:
    Australia Australia
    There’s also another change. An accidental double hit during the swing will only be one stroke.
     
  6. IrishGolfer

    IrishGolfer Fac ut gaudeam Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,799
    Likes Received:
    3,660
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Love all these rules. I think they will make the game better, without diluting it. I also like the "ready-golf" rule, enabling you to play out of turn, to allow groups to speed up.
     
  7. MCDavis

    MCDavis The Plaid Duffer Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    12,794
    Likes Received:
    4,219
    Trophy Points:
    363
    I like them!
     
  8. azgreg

    azgreg "Don't count that." Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,235
    Likes Received:
    14,860
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Country:
    United States United States
    I like the changes. I would like to add another. You should get relief from a fairway divot.
     
    jhmeg2, J.P.C., ualtim and 4 others like this.
  9. TEA Time

    TEA Time Grumpy Gilmore Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6,235
    Likes Received:
    5,350
    Trophy Points:
    8,675,309
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Country:
    United States United States
    Admin Post
    Wow! I love those modifications! Total common sense. I also agree with Greg... there should be no penalty for hitting the fairway.

    Edit: 3 minutes seems fair. 6-hour rounds suck!
     
  10. TheTrueReview

    TheTrueReview "Playing it straight" Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    7,403
    Likes Received:
    5,008
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Country:
    Australia Australia
  11. TEA Time

    TEA Time Grumpy Gilmore Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6,235
    Likes Received:
    5,350
    Trophy Points:
    8,675,309
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Country:
    United States United States
    Admin Post
    NO penalty for a double hit? Hmm... seems like people could stretch that one a bit. "I didn't two-putt, I simply double-hit the first putt."
     
    IrishGolfer likes this.
  12. PaPaD

    PaPaD Club ho, geezer........ Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    7,523
    Likes Received:
    8,712
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Location:
    Fredericksburg VA & Hernando FLA
    Country:
    United States United States
    I agree, but I stated that in the WRX forum and a sh$tStorm ensued. The rules Nazies over there defended that play-it-as-it-lies to the end.
     
    TheTrueReview likes this.
  13. PaPaD

    PaPaD Club ho, geezer........ Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    7,523
    Likes Received:
    8,712
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Location:
    Fredericksburg VA & Hernando FLA
    Country:
    United States United States
    The ball search rule should be a linear function of time and the cost of the ball. ProV1 search time would be 10 minutes (like it is now).
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2018
  14. TheTrueReview

    TheTrueReview "Playing it straight" Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    7,403
    Likes Received:
    5,008
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Country:
    Australia Australia
    They have no idea ... and no idea of the history of the rules and its changes. They masquerade as traditionalists but are mere ignoramuses. If they cared so much about the "history" of the game, they'd not use a tee and when taking a drop would drop the ball over their shoulder whilst facing away from the drop.
     
    limpalong and PaPaD like this.
  15. PaPaD

    PaPaD Club ho, geezer........ Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    7,523
    Likes Received:
    8,712
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Location:
    Fredericksburg VA & Hernando FLA
    Country:
    United States United States
    The most repeated defense is "when you land in a fairway divot it's bad luck - play it. If you hit it into the rough and get a really good lie, should you then move your ball to a bad lie? No? Then play it as it lies in both conditions" :rolleyes:
     
    limpalong and TheTrueReview like this.
  16. TheTrueReview

    TheTrueReview "Playing it straight" Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2009
    Messages:
    7,403
    Likes Received:
    5,008
    Trophy Points:
    263
    Country:
    Australia Australia
    [insert eye roll] Again, ignoramuses. Using that so called reasoning, if you hit it in casual water on the fairway, why should you be able to move the ball to a dry spot? If you hit the ball OB and it ricochets off an OB tree branch back onto the fairway, why should you be able to play it? Blah, blah, blah. Pimply faced pr1cks who pound keyboards in their mother's basements.
     
    limpalong and PaPaD like this.
  17. PaPaD

    PaPaD Club ho, geezer........ Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    7,523
    Likes Received:
    8,712
    Trophy Points:
    173
    Location:
    Fredericksburg VA & Hernando FLA
    Country:
    United States United States
    Yep

    [​IMG]
     
    TheTrueReview likes this.
  18. Fairwaysplitter3320

    Fairwaysplitter3320 Recovering Equipment Ho...off the wagon again. Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Messages:
    10,073
    Likes Received:
    6,908
    Trophy Points:
    223
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, TN
    Country:
    United States United States
    Admin Post
    I like the rule changes!
     
    limpalong likes this.
  19. limpalong

    limpalong Mental Ward Escapee Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    10,269
    Likes Received:
    9,928
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    I forgot!
    Country:
    United States United States
    This!!
     
  20. Libre

    Libre Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2007
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    278
    My thoughts:

    Dropping ball from knee height
    I like it. Keeps the ball from rolling away requiring more drops, and gives the player a little more control where it lies - without being able to tee it up on a tuft of turf. Gee, a tuft of turf sounds so inviting. But no, it shouldn't be placed on the ground. Knee height is low enough.

    Time for Ball Search
    I like it. Move along.
    But one thing isn't mentioned, and that is, what happens after the expiration of the time limit, be it 5 min or 3 min.
    The pros have to return to where the lost ball was hit from, with a 1 stroke penalty (stroke + distance) and that rule still applies. So - for everyone else not in an important event - please don't take 5 minutes or 3 minutes in a casual round. After a reasonable search, just drop one in the general area of the lost ball and take 1 stroke. I mean I'm sorry, but I'm not walking back to the tee - I'm playing on public courses. And yes, I should have hit a provisional (hitting 3) but I didn't because I thought I could find this one. And I don't take mulligans so give a guy a break.

    Repairing Spike Marks
    It's about time, but one thing I want to mention. And I've been playing golf since long before "spikeless shoes" were ever even heard of, much less mandatory. We had pointy metal spikes and man they felt great, but man they could really tear up a green. I can recall a determination being made, if a small tear in the green was a ball mark (repairable), a spike mark (not repairable), or a "cast made by insects" or some such language (repairable).
    So good, you can repair a spike mark now.
    Just please don't start grooming the entire line from your ball to the hole, 1 foot wide and 2 feet past.

    Leaving Flagstick in the Hole
    not sure on this - it can be taken advantage of
    OK fine, I made a birdie like that last month - I was on the edge of the green in 2, my ball MAY have been on or off - the greens are not always that distinct - and I usually leave the flag in whenever putting/chipping from off the green, and my partner said in or out, and I said leave it in, and my ball hit the flagstick (hard) and dropped into the hole. And I scored it a birdie - but in the back of my mind I wondered if I would have gotten a 1 (or maybe 2) stroke penalty for hitting the stick if I was on the green. Good to know that retroactively, it was definitely a birdie.
    But this does leave the door open for intentionally leaving the stick in - I mean from 2 feet if you want to take a whack at it - is there anything stopping you now? Just depending on your being reasonable about it?

    Relaxed Rules in Penalty Area
    Bad enough to be in there in the first place. Sounds good to me.

    Double Hit
    I remember TC Chen doing this, leading the 1985 US Open in the final round.
    Late in the final round, leading, he missed the green, double hit his chip, and wound up making a snowman. That was it. Andy North won.
    I'm not sure about this one. In TC Chen's case, it was unnecessarily punitive.
    But the rule is (was) there for a purpose.
    Without the rule, a player can take advantage.
    Can you double hit on the green?
    What's to stop you from trying to correct a muffed putt?
    To alter the course or the speed of an already struck ball.
    It can be used to cheat actually - like the Leaving Flagstick In.
    No. I don't like it.
     
    Last edited: Mar 15, 2018
    TEA Time and limpalong like this.

Share This Page