1. Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

    We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

    Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

New Rule Changes (1 January 2019)

Discussion in 'General Golf Talk' started by TheTrueReview, Mar 12, 2018.

  1. TEA Time

    TEA Time Grumpy Gilmore Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    5,733
    Trophy Points:
    8,675,309
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Country:
    United States United States
    Admin Post
    I didn't think of this and you have a point, but you really need to hit the pin pretty much dead-on for it to drop so taking a whack from two feet might just put you 8 feet past if you miss the pin. This is a weird one for sure, but always remember... Phil says you have a 30% better chance of holing a chip/putt with the pin out, and that dude is all about numbers.

    :)
     
    Fairwaysplitter3320 likes this.
  2. IrishGolfer

    IrishGolfer Fac ut gaudeam Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2004
    Messages:
    5,964
    Likes Received:
    3,994
    Trophy Points:
    363
  3. one_chip_short

    one_chip_short Misplaced Texan Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2017
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    279
    Trophy Points:
    73
    Location:
    Glendale, Az
    Country:
    United States United States
    I like them, I just wish we can make one more leap ... to recognize recreational non-tournament golfers ... perhaps relax a few more rules for recreational folks, and that just might include fairway divots ...

    not usually a popular topic in certain golf forms as mentioned above, and I can assure WRX is not the only one ...
     
    Fairwaysplitter3320 likes this.
  4. Dufferpauly

    Dufferpauly Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2018
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    175
    Trophy Points:
    33
    Country:
    United States United States
    My trusty foot wedge handles those fairway divots with ease
     
  5. TEA Time

    TEA Time Grumpy Gilmore Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    5,733
    Trophy Points:
    8,675,309
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Country:
    United States United States
    Admin Post
    DeChambeau has been doing it this week, even from like 3 feet away. Oh, he's also ranked 2nd for strokes gained-putting.

    It does speed up play for when someone chips up close and they can just go putt out without waiting for someone to hold the flag. Other than that it just looks goofy.
     
  6. PaPaD

    PaPaD Club ho, geezer........ Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    8,057
    Likes Received:
    9,487
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Fredericksburg VA & Hernando FLA
    Country:
    United States United States
    Flag is staying in the hole for now. We'll see.
     
  7. PaPaD

    PaPaD Club ho, geezer........ Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    8,057
    Likes Received:
    9,487
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Fredericksburg VA & Hernando FLA
    Country:
    United States United States
    I'd like to see the supporting data.......................
     
  8. TEA Time

    TEA Time Grumpy Gilmore Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2011
    Messages:
    6,499
    Likes Received:
    5,733
    Trophy Points:
    8,675,309
    Location:
    Portland, Oregon
    Country:
    United States United States
    Admin Post
    I would too, but when Phil talks golf+mathematics... I listen.
     
  9. subsonic

    subsonic Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,437
    Likes Received:
    4,345
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Golf is a game for cats. Be a dog...

     
    PaPaD likes this.
  10. PaPaD

    PaPaD Club ho, geezer........ Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    8,057
    Likes Received:
    9,487
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Fredericksburg VA & Hernando FLA
    Country:
    United States United States
    I left the flag in during our monthly scramble today and it earned us a few birdies. A few fast downhill putts that would have been a tad long hit the pin and dropped in.
     
    Fairwaysplitter3320 likes this.
  11. Fairwaysplitter3320

    Fairwaysplitter3320 Recovering Equipment Ho...off the wagon again. Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2013
    Messages:
    10,440
    Likes Received:
    7,219
    Trophy Points:
    273
    Location:
    Chapel Hill, TN
    Country:
    United States United States
    Admin Post
    I’m playing tomorrow. Going to give it a go.
     
  12. limpalong

    limpalong Mental Ward Escapee Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    11,096
    Likes Received:
    11,038
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    I forgot!
    Country:
    United States United States
    If I am putting from just off the green, I always have pulled the stick. "It's a putt and I want to make it so why leave the stick in." Today, on #17, I was about 18" off the green. The collar was cut short so I pulled the putter but left the stick in. 20 footer glided up, tapped the stick and fell in the hole for bird.
    My mind is too old, feeble, and already mixed up to have the paralysis through over-analysis of "stick or no stick". Still, that sure worked well today.
     
    Fairwaysplitter3320 likes this.
  13. azgreg

    azgreg "Don't count that." Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,551
    Likes Received:
    15,394
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Country:
    United States United States
  14. PaPaD

    PaPaD Club ho, geezer........ Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2015
    Messages:
    8,057
    Likes Received:
    9,487
    Trophy Points:
    213
    Location:
    Fredericksburg VA & Hernando FLA
    Country:
    United States United States
    I assume it's a no-penalty shot there, even if you do it on purpose. USGA may not have considered that. I have not read the text, tho. The book might say "inadvertently" strike the ball more than once.................

    Legal or not, that's a pretty cool trick he did there!
     

Share This Page