• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Newcomer needs some advice

effec

Apr 11, 2008
I'm new to golf, i've actually haven't hit a ball since high school. Back then no one wanted to go to the range. Everyone wanted to go to parties and the movies etc... same deal now in college. In fact, ever since I moved out to NY, its just much harder to get out to a range.

I'm looking to start really learning about the sport ive always wanted to play but never made time for. I plan to move back to surburbia :) once college is over and would love to play on some real courses one day.

But how can i start? From everything i've read , everyone advises me to get some lessons or instruction before i even think of buying a set of clubs. Thing is, lessons here in NY are ridiculously expensive, and from the horror stories of local pro shops ive read, id rather stay away.

An option is to go drive out to gold galaxy in new jersey and get their lessons and fittings, but i haven't read great review there either. I dont know what to do?

The game plan is to hit the range and work on the short game for a couple of months then start up a 9 hole game mid year.

Cliffs

-Noob wants to learn the game the right way
-Should I get fitted at a pro shop or will golf galaxy do?
-Should I buy a set or piece together one?
-How do i find a good place for lessons and fittings?

footballking732

BURNER BABY!!
Sep 2, 2006
Piece a set together. Box sets are terrible quality.

Being fitted in golf galaxy isnt always a great experience, as with all major retail chains. You need to find a smaller local store, with a guy that knows everything about clubs.