• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Paired up as a rookie golfer

Justice76

Jun 11, 2005
I am new to game and I really enjoy to play alone. I just do not have a strong enough game to play with others. I just get in my head I am ruining there day. Is it mandatory to get paired up? I wish I had friends that like to play but they are just not intrested yet.

DaveE

The golfer fka ST Champ
Aug 31, 2004
It depends where you play. Our course lets singles on all the time but on a busy day it's a pain playing alone because you'll be waiting for every shot.

If you ask, you might be able to get paired up with other new golfers so you'd be more comfortable. And for what it's worth most people don't care how good you are. I play with people that are much better and much worse and it makes no difference.

Ravenous Bugblatter Beast

Deep in thought
Sep 6, 2005
I think you'll need to learn to deal with it. Especially on weekends and busier times.

I'd say that most times, others won't mind if you play worse than them so long as you maintain a reasonable pace of play.

obagain

Used club guru
Mar 29, 2005
If you get paired up, let the others know you are new to the game. Ask them if there is anything that bothers them during a round and then try not to do it.
Most people fully understand that you are going to take a lot of strokes on the course so don't worry about it.
Some basic things to remember.
Do not search for your lost ball for very long.
Do not talk while others are hitting.
Do not walk across the line on the putting green (an imaginary line between the ball and the hole)
Follow these and you should be ok.

SiberianDVM

I love Hooters
Jul 25, 2005
Augusta, GA
Country
United States United States