• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

What do you recommend for a beginner to carry in their bag?

titaniummd

Aug 26, 2006
2i hybrid, 3i hybrid or 3W, 5W

:horse:

No animals were actually hurt in this post.

Davebud

Crackhead Zebra
Oct 31, 2005
Well I am still a beginner and I finally broke 100, I carry a 4 wood. When my bag is finished the Hybrid I carry will be the 3i replacement. I hit my 4i just fine. I also have an 11* driver and highly recomend 11-12* driver, I am regularly driving out 280+.

mont86

Supporting Member
Nov 5, 2005
irons...7,8,9, pitching, sand wedge. putter to start with..
Keep it simple. Good luck

ezra76

Feb 5, 2006
I jump from driver to 4W to a 23* hybrid. It's supposed to be a 4iron replacement but I hit it about as far as a 3iron. I hardly ever use it much anymore anyway. I play a 5i-PW, GW and SW. I just don't think it's necessary to have that many clubs to cover a 20yd. gap from 220-240 or whatever. As a beginner there should be no reason to attempt a shot that long unless it's off a tee. I often shoot in the low 80's and don't even bother trying to reach a par 5 in two unless I've totally striped a drive and have an iron in on a short one. I'd say you'd be fine with either a 5wood or a 3hybrid.

Sean

Worm Burner
Aug 24, 2006
Being new myself, I use a 3 wood off the tee and a 3 & 4 hybrid off the ground. I have 5-9 irons in the bag but have only used 7-9 on the course. PW and SW are a must, imho.

I have completely avoided the driver. I can get maybe 15-20 yards more on the driver if I hit it well, but I just can't control it. Those extra 20 yds mean I gotta go 20 yards deeper in to the woods to find my ball. I can hit the 3 wood on almost every fairway and straight = long in my world :)

ezra76

Feb 5, 2006