• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Why do I slice my Driver but not woods irons or wedges?

Tavery1

Jul 15, 2009
I'm still a beginner but I hit the ball decent for a beginner as long as its not off the tee. I can take a full swing with my woods or irons of the tee perfectly straight and pretty long, as soon as I pull my driver out it turns into an adventure.

What I'm wondering is if I take a half swing could it possibly cure my slice? I'm willing to sacrifice distance off the tee as long as I don't go into the woods, I do have a slightly inside out swing plane on my down swing my back swing isn't horrible.

Any suggestions?

Pa Jayhawk

Nov 15, 2005
Country
United States United States
Any suggestions?
It is because it is your longest club, it is also likely to long for the normal golfer and you may want to investigate and do searches on here about shortening the club. Or talk to a clubmaker about doing so. Simply put, if you are starting off, and bought it off the rack, and do not hit it well, you would likely benefit a great deal by cutting it down a bit. I say this mainly based on your comments, and not simply because you slice the ball.

Also what is the loft, it is also very common that people get too little loft in their driver you will not only gain consistency with more loft, but depending on your circumstances you could even gain distance.

...also a little more info. How does it start out (left, straight, right). How far right does it end up. How far do you hit the ball? How hard do you swing? Do you feel comfortable and balanced with your swing? Any time I would take less of a swing as you asked, it would normally lead to me leaving the clubface open and more of a slice unless you are certain you have a proper release.

OP
T

Tavery1

Jul 15, 2009