1. Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

    We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

    Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Windows 10 Question

Discussion in 'No Golf For You!' started by MCDavis, Oct 16, 2015.

  1. MCDavis

    MCDavis The Plaid Duffer Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,136
    Likes Received:
    4,670
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Upgraded my HP G72 laptop from Windows 7 to Windows 10. Seems to run slower now, and the fan seems to run more.

    Laptop specs: Intel Core i3 M350 @ 2.27GHz, 4 GB Ram, 64 bit X64 based, I use Chrome.

    Windows 7 was the factory set up.

    Should I not have upgraded due to the age of my laptop? Any advice OTHER THAN buy a new laptop?
     
  2. subsonic

    subsonic Well-Known Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,437
    Likes Received:
    4,346
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Don't ask computer advice on a golf forum? ;):D
     
  3. MCDavis

    MCDavis The Plaid Duffer Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    13,136
    Likes Received:
    4,670
    Trophy Points:
    363
    I'm thinking @eclark53520 has some knowledge on this topic, possibly a few others. I know Glark has given computer advice in the past...seems like there were some conversations about building a laptop vs. buying one.
     
    TheTrueReview likes this.
  4. Rockford35

    Rockford35 Shark skin shoes Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    21,792
    Likes Received:
    1,071
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Canada
    Country:
    Canada Canada
    What bloatware did it come with? Quite often, what's downloaded comes bulging with extras that aren't needed. Try snooping around, see what fat you can trim.

    That said, many people have experienced issues with the first run on Win10. If your machine is more than a couple years old, you might be on the outside looking in. Your specs here fit the bill, but that doesn't mean much.

    I'm waiting for a bit to upgrade. A few too many horror stories at this point for me to dive in. I'm pretty happy with how things are running right now.

    R35
     
  5. eclark53520

    eclark53520 DB Member Extraordinaire Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    17,092
    Likes Received:
    7,026
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    South Central Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States United States
    4 gigs of ram is going to be rough especially if you have a few chrome tabs open(chrome is pretty ram intensive)...but shouldn't be a huge issue but throwing another 4 in there(assuming that's possible) wouldn't be difficult or expensive.

    The fan running all the time could be a couple things...
    • possibly a bios setting that got wacky(not likely...but possible) if you check out #2 and CPU isn't being taxed by something and the fan is still running constantly, we can discuss how to fix that
    • Something is running in the background soaking up processor...check out the task manager processes and see what's hogging system resources...could possibly be a rogue virus scanner or something...
    Another possible issue is that you're soaking up all your RAM and it's writing to the paging file...which depending on your HD could be extremely slow...especially if it's a mechanical drive that's over 3/4 or so full
     
  6. azgreg

    azgreg "Don't count that." Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,947
    Likes Received:
    16,032
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Country:
    United States United States
    (Didn't want to start a new thread.)

    My PC is really pissing me off. This problem started a few days ago. When you right click something it brings up a box with all the available options, copy, print, inspect, etc. Now that box is transparent more often then not. You can see the outline of the box as if it's a window in front of the monitor. Sometimes by moving the mouse around the options will appear but not often. It also happens with my bookmark tabs.

    I'm begging to suspect my video card. I've done a virus and malware scan but they have come up clean.
     
  7. eclark53520

    eclark53520 DB Member Extraordinaire Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    17,092
    Likes Received:
    7,026
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    South Central Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States United States
    What are the specs on the computer?

    Hardware and OS
     
  8. azgreg

    azgreg "Don't count that." Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,947
    Likes Received:
    16,032
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Country:
    United States United States
  9. eclark53520

    eclark53520 DB Member Extraordinaire Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2007
    Messages:
    17,092
    Likes Received:
    7,026
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    South Central Wisconsin
    Country:
    United States United States
    Does it clear up for a bit after a restart? Let it come all the way up after a restart and do nothing other than right click the background.

    If it doesn't change, I would also suspect video card, but usually you see other artifacts and weirdness with a video card going bad, not something that specific and repeatable.

    If it does clear up and only returns after you do some other stuff:

    I'm guessing 4 gigs of RAM might have something to do with it, but that's a weird problem. I've seen context menus taking a long time to load due to overloaded systems or systems lacking required hardware for the OS, which, 4 gigs of RAM is what I would consider absolute minimum for a modern system on Windows 10 with modern browsers. If you're running any type of productivity app beyond word or excel along with a few chrome tabs, you're probably smoking your page file constantly. If you have a regular HDD and it's old or nearly full read/writes on the page file can be slow.

    Also could be something corrupted within Windows 10...which may be fixed with a repair. Download the windows 10 ISO from Microsoft, there should be a repair function in there somewhere. Give that a shot.

    EDIT: Also, when this is happening, open task manager. See if your system is being taxed (CPU, Memory, Storage).
     
    Last edited: Feb 11, 2019
    azgreg likes this.
  10. azgreg

    azgreg "Don't count that." Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2007
    Messages:
    14,947
    Likes Received:
    16,032
    Trophy Points:
    363
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    Country:
    United States United States
    Thanks Eric.
     

Share This Page