1. Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

    We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

    Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

World Golf Hall of Fame Announces Finalists for 2021 Induction Class, Including Tiger Woods

Discussion in 'Golf News' started by Dogfish Head, Mar 3, 2020.

  1. Dogfish Head

    Dogfish Head Well-Known Member TEA is my HERO

    Apr 8, 2012
    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    Huntsville, AL
    United States United States
    Admin Post
    ST. AUGUSTINE, Fla. – The World Golf Hall of Fame released the names of 10 finalists who will be considered for enshrinement in 2021. The list of finalists includes Male and Female Competitors and Contributors.

    Below is the list of finalists (listed alphabetically by category):

    Male Competitor (4)
    Johnny Farrell, United States
    Padraig Harrington, Ireland
    Tom Weiskopf, United States
    Tiger Woods, United States

    Female Competitor (4)
    Susie Maxwell Berning, United States
    Beverly Hanson, United States
    Sandra Palmer, United States
    Dottie Pepper, United States

    Contributor (2)
    Tim Finchem, United States
    Marion Hollins, United States

    The finalists were selected by the Nominating Committee comprised of 26 individuals, including six Hall of Fame Members: Juli Inkster, Hale Irwin, Meg Mallon, Colin Montgomerie, Mark O’Meara and Karrie Webb. Before gaining consideration, each finalist met the necessary qualifications in his or her respective category by way of on-course accomplishments or significant contributions to the game.

    "The Nominating Committee has selected 10 finalists who represent the highest caliber of golfers and contributors," said Greg McLaughlin, CEO of World Golf Foundation. "The recent enhancements to the World Golf Hall of Fame Induction criteria provide a great process to ensure the most worthy of candidates are being considered. We are grateful to the Nominating Committee for their work and anticipate the Class of 2021 being one of our strongest to date."

    The World Golf Foundation Board of Directors recently approved changes to the eligibility include lowering the age of a Male or Female Competitor from 50 to 45 years of age or three years retired from the game. Additional changes included retiring the Veterans category and changing the name of the former Lifetime Achievement category to the Contributor category.

    The Selection Committee, a 20-member panel comprised of Hall of Fame Members, media representatives and leaders of the major golf organizations, will be tasked with discussing the merits of each finalist and ultimately selecting the Class of 2021.

    The 2021 Induction Ceremony date, location and class will be announced in the coming weeks. For more information on the Induction process, visit www.worldgolfhalloffame.org.

    Class of 2021 Nominating Committee

    Greg McLaughlin, World Golf Foundation

    Hall of Fame Members
    Juli Inkster
    Hale Irwin
    Meg Mallon
    Colin Montgomerie
    Mark O'Meara
    Karrie Webb

    Institutional Seats
    World Golf Foundation Board Organizations
    Heather Daly-Donofrio, LPGA
    Steve Ethun, The Masters
    Angela Howe, The R&A
    Rand Jerris, USGA
    Allison Keller, PGA TOUR
    Guy Kinnings, European Tour
    Julius Mason, PGA of America

    At-Large Seats
    Media and at-large selections chosen by World Golf Foundation Board
    Ron Green, Jr., Global Golf Post
    Bob Harig, ESPN
    Nicki Hirayama, International Golf Federation
    Alastair Johnston, IMG
    Derek Lawrenson, Daily Mail
    Rich Lerner, Golf Channel
    Lewine Mair, Global Golf Post UK
    Randall Mell, Golf Channel
    Jimmy Roberts, NBC
    Dave Shedloski, Golf Digest/Discovery
    Reiko Takekawa, Golf Digest
    Kelly Tilghman


    Source: World Golf Hall of Fame Announces Finalists for 2021 Induction Class, Including Tiger Woods

Share This Page