I stand by it, hogwash. They are going to interpret the rules now not for accuracy, but to protect themselves. Because, yknow, USGA.
Yes, rule 14-5 addresses his actions in part. But so does 1-2. And they are going to go with the judgment call that defends their negligence.
It wasn't within the rules. It was a serious breach of him influencing a ball in play. It wasn't incidental. It was deliberate. The USGA is wrong here. He should have been DQed. Period.
As some may remember, quite some time ago I played in Florida. I did okay, not great, but between illness and a lack of familiarity with bermuda grass, my scoring could have been much better.
Well, last week I was in Arkansas, and played far better. The greens had just been dressed, but...