• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

A little help

WKA82

Dec 14, 2007
I am new to the game. I can hit my Irons good, but when it comes to my driver I cant seem to hit the ball straight. It goes a good distance but to the right. I know it is hard to give advice without seeing my swing but any would be appreciated. Also what kind of training manuals or dvds have worked well for you all? Thanks for the help.

mont86

Supporting Member
Nov 5, 2005
Once I quit trying to crush the ball with the driver, it helped greatly.

solarbear88

Jan 3, 2007
I am new to the game. I can hit my Irons good, but when it comes to my driver I cant seem to hit the ball straight. It goes a good distance but to the right. I know it is hard to give advice without seeing my swing but any would be appreciated. Also what kind of training manuals or dvds have worked well for you all? Thanks for the help.

Chances are you probably need to fix some things in your set up.

lamebums

300 yards into the woods.
Jul 4, 2007

The majority of new golfers slice the ball off the tee because of an outside-in swing path. It means through impact that you're pulling the club towards you as well as through the ball. The spin you're imparting on it will curve the ball to the right through the air.

It probably doesn't show on your irons because an iron shot typically generates more backspin (backspin fights off sidespin).

And yes, not crushing the ball may help, although work on the swing path.

Eracer

No more triple bogies!!
Oct 31, 2005
Go to the range, set up an alignment station using two irons laid down parallel to each other, one just outside of the ball, the other just outside of your feet, so that they both point downrange on your target line.