• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

A new low

EnglishGolfer

Talks a good game
Oct 3, 2005
Well this has been a very VERY depressing weekend for my game. I have been improving almost every round I've had for the last 12 months and after a break of 5 weeks my game completely abandoned me. I don't mean that I just wasn't middling shots and holing putts, I mean I could barely hit a ball! I scored 17 points in a stableford comp on a great course in lovely conditions.

I can't recall ever playing so badly and I have no idea what was happening, I tried everything I knew to try to get back on track and by the 9th I was getting desperate as it was getting embarrassing looking for my ball on every hole.

How the hell does this happen? I felt awful stood over the ball, my tempo was random, my plane was different on every shot and nearly every shot went 45 degrees right with an added bit of slice or about 4/5 were hooked left as I strengthened my grip.

I've been playing for 20 years and I know a lot about the swing yet despite moving my weight onto my right foot more, strengthening my grip, flattening my plane and trying to hold the club face closed (none of which would I recommend to anyone looking for a long term fix), I still made an absolute arse of myself blasting everything right.

I'm gutted. I was honestly thinking that i had a good chance of shooting level par in the next couple of months before this weekend.

Considering taking up the game left handed and relaxing with the lower expectations.

Dave Ireland

I'm sizzlin tonite
Aug 31, 2004