• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Amateur looking for a new driver - what to do?

outperform

Extreme Amateur
Jul 14, 2008
So I've been playing golf for two weeks now. And this is what I have in my bag.

Callaway 3 Wood
Ben Hogan BH-5's Iron Set from 4-9 + PW.
Wilson Sand Wedge.
Mizuno Putter (not sure which mizuno model) brand new.

I got all of these for free (i'm really lucky), and now I just need a driver. Now I have some multiple questions.

The first question is, should I buy an expensive really nice driver and learn
to master that, or should I buy a forgiving driver since I'm just learning? I'm
thinking the expensive quality one, because that way I can keep it for
many years.

Now once I've decided on that question, how do I know what kind of shaft
is best because I've seen there be some different levels of stiffness (and
excuse my crappy understanding of the game, like I said i'm just starting).

What are some recommended stores where I can test the shafts and find
which I like best? I know Sports Authority doesn't have this sort of set up.

Third question - Iron Head covers? Really necessary?

Thanks for any help you may provide. I really appreciate it.

JEFF4i

She lives!
Supporting Member
Jul 3, 2006
So I've been playing golf for two weeks now. And this is what I have in my bag.

Callaway 3 Wood
Ben Hogan BH-5's Iron Set from 4-9 + PW.
Wilson Sand Wedge.
Mizuno Putter (not sure which mizuno model) brand new.

Picture of the Mizuno? I've been wanting one, hehe.

I got all of these for free (i'm really lucky), and now I just need a driver. Now I have some multiple questions.

The first question is, should I buy an expensive really nice driver and learn
to master that, or should I buy a forgiving driver since I'm just learning? I'm