• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Ball launching really high with regular flex shaft

Johnny Par

Supporting Member
Sep 5, 2006
hey guys,
I took a Mizuno MX 17 6 iron (regular flex) to the range and took some swings. I was striking the ball good but it seems to launch the ball really high.

I am a beginner (only playing for about a month) so I figured that my swing speed would be anywhere from slow to average (guess I won't know until I get my swing speed checked at the local shop).

But here my question, is the high trajectory caused by the regular flex shaft? I think I heard someone say that if you have a fast swing speed and use a regular flex shaft, it sends the ball high? or is it the other way around? also, I didn't think my swing was fast at all.

Thanks for the input everyone.

:miz:

JoshinWA

Aug 31, 2006
JohnnyPar,

If you have a shaft with a low kickpoint, it will launch the ball higher than one with a mid to high kickpoint. That being said, I imagine that flex itself can have some impact. For example, if you need a stiff flex but use clubs with R flex, you might hit high balls that head right...

As for your swing speed, how far are you hitting the 6i? I hit mine around 170-175, and I use stiff shafts. My swing speed (measured with driver) is around 110mph...

Josh

OP
Johnny Par

Johnny Par

Supporting Member
Sep 5, 2006
I wonder what the standard kickpoint spec was on the MX-17.

With my 6 iron, I can only hit it about 145-150 yds. My swing speed seems slow compared to others I see swinging.

soSoJeffCC

Sep 8, 2006
it might also be the fact that you are not delofting the face at impact. I'm trying to work on that as well.

loco

Not good at golf
Sep 12, 2006