• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Beginners glossary/tech reference

myndcraft

Sunset Beach Golf Co.
Aug 29, 2007
Hey all, as we have seen from some of my other threads I'm fairly new to the game (playing after a 12 year hiatus and barely even played back then) and could use some help with terminology etc..

For example when referring to clubs what do the following mean?

Offset, loft/lie angle, bounce.

Then theirs different flexes in the shaft and different shaft materials all together.

Well frankly it seems like a lot. So while I could go look all these terms up I was wondering if anyone here could gve some insight on both to meaning and how they all relate to each other.. if at all.

So any help / additional information would be greatly appreciated.. even if it's to stop being lazy and read a book! … though maybe in that case you could recommend a good one LOL

JEFF4i

She lives!
Supporting Member
Jul 3, 2006
Offset, How far the clubhead sits back from the hosel at address. For example, you can pick up a set of Ping G5 Irons, and a set of Mizuno MP32s, and you should get an idea for that.

loft/lie angle, Loft angle is how steep of angle each club has on the clubface itself. For example, a driver. Some come in 9 degrees, some in 11. It's the same principal with irons, though, more standardized. Lie angle is the angle it rises from the ground. Essentially, what degree does the shaft come up from the ground and toward your hands? Taller players need a higher lie angle, short a lower.