• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Cold weather golf ball?

SiberianDVM

I love Hooters
Jul 25, 2005
Augusta, GA
Country
United States United States
It's time for the annual cold weather golf ball thread. :)

Yesterday, when I started playing at 1PM, the temp was 45°F. The golf ball was going nowhere.

I tried every variety of ball that I had in my bag: Titleist ProV1, Titleist NXT Tour, Titleist DT-Solo, Taylormade TP Red, Maxfli Tour Fire, Maxfli Black Max. The Black Max was the only one that felt remotely soft, and they have been long discontinued.

Anyone have a recommendation for a soft winter time golf ball?

indacup

Supporting Member
Jun 1, 2007
Iowa
Nike Soft-Feel (in the green boxes) work really well....Srixon AD333 are excellent cold weather balls.

The best I ever hit in cold weather were the Strata Tour straight, which were 37 compression...lowest ever made and can still be found at some places.

I heard the new Wilson 50-50 are made for cold weather and slow speeds as well.

wirehair

Life's too short to drink cheap wine.
Apr 29, 2005
Just keep 'em warm. I carry a couple in my pocket and alternate balls on each hole. They stay nice & squishey.

warbirdlover

Ender of all threads
Supporting Member
Jul 9, 2005
central Wisconsin
Country
You'd better get some heated "socks" for your driver graphite shafts to keep those loose too!!! :D :D :D :laugh:

Anyone watch the Packers/Bears game yesterday (-1º wind chill)? That's what you'd have to deal with up here (if you could find a course open)... :D

SplooGe

Supporting Member
Jan 7, 2007
I don't see how your balls can get cold when you are leaving them in the GF's purse, unless she's leaving it in the car overnight.