• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Does "correct form" exist?

Turner

Jul 17, 2009
I'm beginning to doubt it...

First, let me say I'm a relative beginner - I shoot over 100, but began taking lessons. I've played on and off, never regularly, for about 16 years. I've played well and I've played poorly but never consistently.

Here's the thing:

EVERY SINGLE BOOK I look at is contradictory.

Put the ball on your left heel. Put it three inches in from your left heel. Keep it the same distance from your left foot and move your right foot in and out based on club. Move the ball toward your right foot for shorter clubs.

Open your stance. Don't open your stance. Turn your foot. Move your right foot back. Move it in.

Ok, how about this: hit UP on the ball when using the driver. But put it near your left foot. So, if hitting up, your club head travels underground, right? Ok, I can hit up. Easily. And I easily, viciously topspin the ball. When I hit down like an iron it seem to work just fine. (Yeah, I know I'm supposed to hit up.)

MAN! I am seriously doubting that there is a "correct form" - do all pros have the same setup, same swing, same follow through? I don't think so.

Sorry for the rant but I'm getting frustrated here. Seriously, if you've looked through golf books you know what I'm talking about.

What gives?

Any help appreciated!

Thanks,
Andrew

SilverUberXeno

El Tigre Blanco
Jul 26, 2005
Do what works. If you hit the ball better from a certain ball position, use it. If you're going to get instruction from books, make sure it's from the same teacher, or at least the same style. MANY books ARE contradictory, because there are a plethora of ways to get the club to where it needs to be.

Keep your weight on the inside of your back foot on the backswing.