• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Exercises

Dale

English Hacker...
Aug 12, 2006
UK
I've been playing golf now for about 4 years, but recently (more in the past year) I've been feeling slight arm, shoulder and back pain when swinging.

Now I'm still (fairly) young (I'm just turned 28), and I've played sports most of my life. I'm not that flexible which may be down to the cause, but I've been to the pro and had my swing analysed and (not to blow smoke up my backside) he has said that my natural swing bar a few minor flaws is very very good. It shouldn’t be doing anything 'too' distressing to my body to cause damage.

Now I am wondering if and what any exercises people do to A: strengthen / flex the specific muscles used for the golf swing in your arms and back and B: what do people to do warm up before the range / going on a round?

I'm getting tired now of my ever improving game stalling a bit because I'm feeling aches etc when swinging. I look at the guys that are really good at this game and their swings look almost effortless, and whist I am doing ok at golf I would like it to become less of a strain if possible (it’s hard to explain, mainly because I am crap at explaining things properly!)

I'd like to possible find some exercises that I can do when at home / at the gym which will give me more strength and control over swinging the club.

Thanks
<o:p> </o:p>

BoarderDave

SoCal Golfer
Aug 24, 2006
Torrance, CA
Country
United States United States
Im also curious on this.. usually I just grab my club weight (the donut ones that slip on the club) and go swing for a while.

Or I'll wander down to a range and hit short buckets of balls every few days..