• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Finding the right instructor

foxhound6

Serial Hacker
May 13, 2008
Found this site a few days ago, glad to see there's a lot of chatter. I posted this on another message board (one you have to pay to belong to) and only got one response. I've read a lot of the posts on here and have enjoyed the banter so I'm hoping to get some input.

I've been golfing for about 15 years now (started at 12). I used to play a lot when I was in high school, but when I left for college, it dropped to about 3-4 times a year. It's stayed that way until now when I finally have started to get my weekends back (no more military, long distance girlfriend moved in). I've already gone out a few times this year and I'm still shooting the same that I have been since I started (high 90s, low 100s). I've been thinking about taking lessons, but it seems like everywhere is offering them these days. From the local driving ranges, to golf stores, to the courses themselves. Since I don't have a fortune to spend on lessons, I'm wondering how I can figure out where to go without actually having to take a lesson first. Thanks in advance.

Sandpiper3

Golf Course Designer
Aug 9, 2006
Reputable courses are usually the best route. They have the best people there for a reason.

Ive found that stores and ranges generally have some run of the mill random guy and might know something other than "the swing" if your lucky, they all teach the "perfect swing", not teaching your swing.

Go to a reputable guy/course/facility and they'll teach you YOUR swing.

kelvinsense

degen gambler
May 9, 2008
I've been searching for instructors aswell.