• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Friends and Golf

MrT

Jul 23, 2008
SO I have a question for you guys. I am new to this site BTW and have been playing this great game for a little over 2 years. During the year I teach and don't have too much time to practice, but during the summer I work hard at my game and now can say I break 100 on a regular basis.

My question comes from this. I have 2 friends who I have grown up with and are the people responsible for getting me into the game. We usually play once a week. But lately I have been wanting to get out more and play as the range doesn't feel like enough feedback as a round would. They are picky about price (which I can understand, again I am a teacher and money can be tight), time, course and tend to make tee times way to late and we never can finish in time!

My question is do I leave these guys and play on my own? Or do I wait around and miss out on some fun and practice in real life course situations?

I mean these guys were in my wedding and they have helped me improve a lot....but is it weird to go play on your own? I feel confident enough to be able to do it, also because I know I can just pick up and put the ball in a better lie to give my self more practice and not be so competitive!

What do you guys think?
:wow:
Thanks again!

MIKE1218

Top Bloke
Dec 21, 2006
I enjoy playing alone. I usually play a lot better, because golf is the only thing I am concentrating on. However, unlike you, I kick my ball into worse lies for more practice. ;)

The only way to tell is to go play a round by yourself. Let us know how you like it.

Nikonut

Apr 24, 2008
N. Texas
Country
United States United States
Yep...you definatly have to seperate the serious from the social.
too much social golf can be tough on your focus.