• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

from the home of golf..............

The Highlander

On the tee from Torvean
Sep 14, 2009
Hi, my name is Shaun and im a golfaholic from Scotland.

I have been playing the game for just over 5 years now and like the rest of the golfing population and Arnold Palmer I believe that golf is without doubt the greatest game mankind has ever invented but sometimes its can just be a stupid game anyways! ;)

I have had a handicap for three out of the five years I have been playing and last year saw me reduce it from 23.6 at the start of the season to 13.2 at the end of the season, I did hit 12 dead at one point but I struggled to play to it right to the end of the year.

I worked hard on my swing over that winter and came out fighting at the start of this year, two gross 76's in early May saw me get all the way down to 11.4 with two competition wins in the bag already, my game was on form and I was brimming with confidence in it needless to say. Throughout this year as my first year in the mens I competed in our clubs seasonal matchplay knockouts for the first time.

Although my handicap wouldn't budge off 12 in the medals, I was playing some of my best golf in my matches and made it through 4 rounds to reach the final, I played very well but got beat on the 18th with my opponent making a superb up and down from the rough, my ball striking had been great all day and my opponent even praised to me that I'm striking the ball as well as any single figure golfer I just need to relax a little more and learn that the putter is just as important as striking the ball well with woods and irons.