• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Frustration to the Nth power...

tailStrike

May 4, 2008
Hello everyone,

Just wanted to vent a little here. I've been playing golf off and on for nearly 10 years now and caught the bug again this year and have been hitting the range pretty heavily. I'm trying to hard to build a repeatable, strong, and accurate swing, but it's just not coming together for me.

My tendency is to hit my irons relatively strong and hook my driver pretty consistently. After watching a couple of instructional vids, I decided to hook up the camcorder and take a look at my swing and discovered that my setup with the driver was pretty poor - my legs were straight and I was bending mostly with my back, rather than hips, leading to a rather odd take away where my arms would come straight across my body on the inside before they turned and moved upwards.

At the range I forced myself to keep my chin up, bend at the knees and hips with better posture and create a swing with my driver that felt more similar to swinging an iron. I straightened the driver out and hit more straight 200+ yard drives than I had had produced in a long time. However, today I hit the range and the same technique produced SLICING!!! Part of me wants to think that I'm now swinging a little faster and my shaft is too soft, but I know that's just wishful thinking. I just don't understand how no matter how long a play this game or how much effort I put into it, I never seem to get off of this plateau of sub mediocrity. Ugh!