• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Going from heel toe balanced to face balanced putter

hypergolf

Mar 6, 2007
I have been playing with Scotty Cameron Newport 2 for the past 1 1/2 years now and it has been a good putter. However, I have a straight back straight through putting stroke and been recommended by a few friends that I should give a face balanced putter (with shaft in the center) instead. I would seriously like to improve my putting since I can shave off around 5 strokes if I were to be more precise. However, since I got accustomed to the shaft in the heel, the center shaft looks awkward...

Is this switch really going to help in my putting strokes? Which face balanced putters are recommended out there? Anyone made a transition from heel toe balanced to face balanced putter and noticed a difference? Any face balanced putters that do not have shaft right in the middle of the putter head? Thanks.

RickinMA

Supporting Member
Feb 3, 2007
putters don't have to be center shafted to be face balanced and if you really have a straight back, straight through stroke a face-balanced putter may help you

for an easy transition, have you looked at any of the long-necked scottys?

many mallets are face balanced too - it just means that the weight of the head is directly behind the axis of the shaft
if you look at a long-necked Anser style putter, you can draw an imaginary line down the shaft right to the center of the putter

ezra76

Feb 5, 2006