• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Handicap

DisKoDucK

Jan 24, 2007
My friends and I started playing golf a few years ago, and we were all new at the time. Never thought about this handicap business, just went up and hit golf balls and see who could shoot lower scores. Seems simple enough to me... So my question is, why do we need a handicap? Is it only for the sake of letting people of all playing abilities play with each other?

I know you need 5 scorecards to get a handicap, but what happens after? do you get it "updated" after every round?

DouginGA

dont tread on me
Dec 8, 2005
diskoduck,
this site will tell you all you want to know about handicaps and then some
Golf Handicap FAQ - Questions and Answers about the USGA Golf Handicap System
but to answer your questions

you dont need a handicap

people of all abilities can play together without handicapping, handicapping just makes it a little more competitive if you are competing or gambling.

yes your handicap gets adjusted as you add your scores. it is a slightly complex equation/formula but software abounds to calc it for you.

If you play with a regular bunch like I do you ought to be able to just know that "you almost always beat pete by five strokes" so just give him four so he has a chance or whatever.

I dont really like the idea of handicapping even when gambling. I hate to feel I "lost" shooting a 81 to a guy who shot a 92 but got 12 strokes. And I feel guilty taking any $$ from a guy who shot 73 when I shot an 81.

Handicapping makes the "winner" whoever had a better day, not who was the better golfer. From my experience at pool and darts I learned "you have to pay for your education".