• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Hippy questions and thoughts...

Rockford35

Shark skin shoes
Staff member
Admin
Aug 30, 2004
Canada
Country
Canada Canada
I was watching Playing Lessons from the Pros again, the Laura Davies one. She's a huge be-atch, but she can bring it.

I'm a student of the game and like to see what makes everyone's swings tick. And, once in a while, I get a little insight that fits my eye more than anything else.

In her shot description, she explained that as a young girl, she played golf against her bigger brothers and their friends. And, they had long drive competitions. In her search for the long drive, she grew to find that using her right hip and driving it through the ball at impact gave her the most distance, even to this day. And, when she gets out of rythym, it's because her hips are pushing at the right time.

I never thought of the right hip as much of anything in my swing. But, after a few swings in the backyard intentionally driving the right hip (it feels so stupid off the hop, but after a few you start to see her thinking and the feel), I started feeling as though I was bring the club through the zone with authority.

Taking a step back, I went back to my regular routine swing and found that when I went for the fences, I had that same feel - to a point. I hate swinging 100%. But with her mindset, it felt to me as tho my swing was more powerful, but without the sacrifice of control.

I'm not sure how much sense this makes to anyone here, but it's interesting how you can watch 100's of swings and then out of the blue, from the last person you would expect it, gives you this tip that has you salivating for the range.

She's not hot, but she makes sense to me.

R35

bdcrowe

ST Homeland Security
Aug 30, 2004