• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Hitting irons well finally...

monzter

Aug 7, 2008
I've been playing for about 3 months now and have been struggling hitting my irons the entire time. Other aspects of my game have improved. My drives have been going straighter (hit about 10 of 15 fairways where I used the driver today) and longer (anywhere from 240-270yds). My putting is better, was 3 putting almost every hole when I started playing and i'm down to about 36-38 putts per round now.

While at the range yesteray, I tweaked my backswing a bit and it was like a lightbulb went off and I began making consistent and solid contact with my irons (3 through 9). I hit my long irons particularly well...suprisingly. :)

So during todays round i'm hitting my drives, my irons, and my putts. But damn me if I couldn't hit one of my wedges well all day. I may have hit a handful of decent shots with my wedges all day.:real angry:

Ended up shooting a 113, my worst round in 4-5 weeks (been averaging about 105 my last few rounds out) BUT I did end the day on a positive note, shooting a 50 for the back 9 :D

I am hooked on this game....spent the worst/best 4 hours of my week out on the golf course today.

Sorry about the long rant but after struggling to hit my irons for the last 3 months it feels real good to be making consistent contact...was pin high on several holes today and landed within 4 feet of the flag on 3 holes today (par'd them all).

warbirdlover

Ender of all threads
Supporting Member
Jul 9, 2005
central Wisconsin
Country
United States United States
I've been in an "iron funk" lately. I am going to tweak my backswing alittle. Basically use a slow backswing with my irons like I do with my driver and see what happens. :)

eclark53520

DB Member Extraordinaire