• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Hogan Apex Plus

ualtim

Carrollton, TX
Supporting Member
Aug 20, 2005
Country
United States United States
Well, I have done it again. A Ho'ing deal too good to reisist. A set of Ben Hogan Apex Plus irons (3-E). Look to be in good condition from the photos, and I was able to snag them for $120. The only issue in the listed description was the need for new grips, which is perfect as I was going to replace the grips anyway.

I have been scrounging the bay and GG for a several months now trying to get into a set of Mizuno T-Zoid Pro II;s, MP-30's, or MP-60's at a steal of a price. No such luck on the MP-30's or '60's, and ended up losing several auctions on the Pro II's. I had expanded the search out to Hogans a few months ago and was intreagued with the Apex Pro's and FTX's. Today was the day when I found an auction sitting there in my deal zone and pulled the trigger with 30 seconds to go.

With any luck I will have them by the end of the week so I can get them worked into shape and give them a shot to get into my bag over the next few weeks.

Rockford35

Shark skin shoes
Staff member
Admin
Aug 30, 2004
Canada
Country
Canada Canada
My only concern is with how quickly the faces wear on Hogans. Almost every used set you see has the short irons suffering from browning, even after just one year of play.

Crappy shafts, too. You'll want to throw something new in there as well.

R35

WildCatGolfer17

Aug 16, 2007
also dont besuprized how hard it is to find mp 60's at a " steal" they arent that old and i bought mine new for 850 about 3 weeks ago

clint

Aug 17, 2006
I had my eye on those too. Glad I forgot about them thus not getting in a last second bid war with you.

Clint

BigJim13

Staff member
Aug 13, 2006