• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

I need driver/shaft advice and help please

bfrank3502

Rookie Golfer
Dec 7, 2008
I currently use a Cobra 460cc Fspeed driver 10.5 degrees loft with 55g Reg. flex shaft 43.75 inches long. I have been using this driver for a few years now and I guess most people would say that is not a problem but here is my story. My swing speed is approx. 100-105. I hit the ball straight to a slight draw consistently and carry the ball approx. 220yards and once it hits the fairway it dead stops with no roll at all. I have tried changing my swing because everybody has told me that I swing to steep and lots of spin. changing my swing screws me up badly with control and fairways hit. I was wondering if less loft, different shaft, etc... would help me with my high spin rate and get me roll? I hit it plenty high enough for sure.. I would go get fitted but no really good pro shops where I live except Dicks sporting goods and they just want to sell and not really help my problem.. thanks in advance for any help on trying different shafts or different driver head completely.. I have tried my buddies G10 driver 10.5 degrees with stiff UST Pro shaft and same thing no different in distance and same no roll.. Please help

FATC1TY

Taylormade Ho' Magnet
May 29, 2008
You could look for a lower launching, lower spin shaft and see if that works, but it could be expensive to test out.

Other than that, my suggestion is getting a lesson and working on a shallower swing plane.

OP
bfrank3502

bfrank3502

Rookie Golfer
Dec 7, 2008
Do you have any names for the lower launching, lower spinning shafts, do I need to look for certain kick point and torque?

FATC1TY

Taylormade Ho' Magnet
May 29, 2008
Look for the matrix ozik HD series.. low spin, low/mid launch.