• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Junior clubs for beginner

David B

Nuttier than a Squirrel
Apr 21, 2005
Howdy everyone,
I have a question, that I hope somebody can answer.

My son is turning 7 next month, and since he's been hitting me up to 'go golfing', I figured I'd get him a set of junior clubs.

He's a complete beginner, though when he was a bit younger I did find a mini driver at a thrift store that he used to smack a practice ball around a bit, and even though he had no form at all, he still managed to hit the ball now and then. :)

I'm currently looking at a set of Tommy Armour RAM G-Force junior's, which includes a driver, a hybrid fairway wood, two irons, a mallet-style putter, and a bag, for about $60.

ebay link: http://cgi.ebay.com/NEW-RAM-GOLF-JUNIOR-G-FORCE-GOLF-SET-W-BAG-AGES-7-10_W0QQitemZ7235756420QQcategoryZ115280QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

The clubs are sized for ages 7-10, so I figured that if I get him in on the lower end of the size, he at least could be able to use them for a couple years before he completely outgrows them.

I mainly want to get him something that's forgiving , so that frustration doesn't set in early (I know I have problems with it at my age), because I'd really like him to get some enjoyment out of it, so that hopefully it becomes a lifelong hobby... plus it'll give us some Dad & Son time out on the course (when he's older).