• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

My 1st Launch Monitor Session

Nemo

Just trying to suck less
Oct 27, 2007
I have been playing for 3 years, playing to a 20 handicap now. I went to my local golf shop for a driver fitting last night. The fitting was on a Vector LM and uses the SwingLabs software to select the best driver for you based on your results with your "control club". I used my Cobra F-Speed 10.5 stock stiff as the control. The averaged data from my control club listed below, with what the software said is optimum for my club speed in ( ).

Club Speed - 85
Ball Speed - 124 (128)
Launch - 14.7 (15.4)
Backspin - 2847 (3300)
Direction - -7, which means 7 yds left

The direction part of it was a bit of a concern to me. The LM basically said that I was hooking the ball, which is very rare for me. My typical miss is to the right, more of a push than a slice. But I can draw the ball if I try to. So I'm not sure if I was swinging differently on the LM than I normally do, or if the LM was a bit flawed.

The problem is that when the SwingLab listed the club recommendations for me, it included a bunch of open faced "tour" models or neutral/fade weighted clubs. When I know that I'd be better suited with a slightly closed face or draw weighted club. Understanding that, the guy doing the fitting eliminated the open faced and fade biased clubs and I hit a few of the others. These included the HiBore XL & XLS, Callaway Hyper X & FTi & Nike Sumo 5900 (not the square one). The best results on the LM came from the HiBore XL 10.5, gold regular shaft. I tried the new XLS and it wasn't as good for me. Results below:

Club Speed - 85
Ball Speed - 123
Launch - 16.93
Backspin - 3673