• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Need some help

haxx27

Jun 20, 2007
Alright, I've been golfing for around 8 years, and I'm not going to lie. I'm terrible at it. The other day I played one of my buddies who has been golfing for around three years he said, he's my age (16) and shooting in the 70's.

Everyone tells me I have a really good looking swing and blah blah, but I can't seem to transfer my weight to hit the ball further. I'm hitting a 5-iron 150 yards using my arms only. My dad told me if I learned how to transfer my weight properly I could add at least another 40 yards to all of my shots. If I could hit the ball farther and put it in on the green from even 230 yards out, then I'm sure my game would improve.

I've been to various golf lessons, looked at things on the internet, and nothing seems to be working.

Any ideas?? I'm open to any suggestions

APowell1990

Jan 6, 2006
wow seems like an older version of where I was. When you make contact with the ball, TRY to almost fall forward towards your target. Don't overswing but just make sure to let your lower body get through the ball. Good luck and it is definately true what your dad said. I was just like you and then I started transferring my weight and I hit my 5 iron around 200 yards easy. So def. listen to your dad and try to fall forward almost after you make contact

JEFF4i

She lives!
Supporting Member
Jul 3, 2006
Also a strong shoulder turn promotes weight being shifted to the back, and as the shoulders come back around, generally the body shifts forward.

Don't think of a swing as a swaying, but as a slinky.

Oh, and welcome to the forum!

Eracer

No more triple bogies!!
Oct 31, 2005
You are a prime candidate for the Gary Player "Step-Through" drill.