• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

New here from East TN

DownNDirtyTN

Apr 8, 2009
Just found this forum while surfing the net and thought I'd register.

I started playing this wonderful game with my dad when I was about 9 years old. In his day he was one of the best golfers around here. He won countless local tournaments and was a heck of a golfer. If it wasn't for his bad neck and back he would still be very good - he can still go out about once a year with no practice and shoot under a 90. Unfortunately, his golf genes wasn't passed on to me. He is a natural and I have to really work at it.

Like I said he would take me out some when I was young but I would only get to go with him a couple of times a year. I played like that until I was about 17 then quit until last summer. A friend of mine wanted me to start playing golf with him so I started back up. We generally play 3-4 times a month as that's all us poor guys can afford - especially now that BOTH of us have our first children on the way later in the summer.

I've always had to work at golf but I am improving greatly over what I started out with last year. Last year when we started we would hit our local "park" course here which is nothing more than a glorified driving range. But it wasn't crowded, was pretty cheap, and a good learning tool. Its a 9 hole course that is pretty ran down for the most part but still gave us practice with different types of shots. When we first started out last summer I was shooting close to 110 (awful) and he was shooting 120 (worse).