• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

New here

SashaB

Jun 9, 2022
Country
United States United States
Hi All, I joined in the last month or so. Primarily as a lurker- soaking up insights. I’m new to golf. My folks were/are golfers so I grew up with the game and have a theoretical understanding. Starting off with an eclectic set of clubs i have cobbled together. A few are my Mom’s. I have a pro teacher and also go to the range with my 89 year old Dad. They are both on the same page (Dad has me reading Penick’s Little Red Book).
After years of resisting playing-I’m addicted!

TEA Time

Grumpy Gilmore
Staff member
Admin
Mar 23, 2011
Portland, Oregon
Country
Awesome, welcome aboard! If you ever have any questions about anything golf, chances are you'll find it here.

limpalong

Mental Ward Escapee
Supporting Member
Oct 18, 2006
I forgot!
Country
The "Little Red Book" is a fantastic place to begin!!! A classic!!

Folks haul their kids around for softball, soccer, etc. Then, once out of high school, they may never play those games again. Golf?? You can play it your entire life. It's great for networking in your chosen career. It's great for exercise if you have a desk job. And, when you retire??? I play 6 or 7 days/week. 75 years old. So much better than sitting in a recliner and rotting away.

Please keep in mind that golf can be extremely evil. One day you think you have the game mastered. The next day it will kick you in the butt!!! It's a mental game, much more than a physical game. Can be so rewarding and so frustrating at the same time.

Welcome to the Game!!! Always leave the course in better condition than you found it. Respect the course and the people you are playing golf with.

OP
S

SashaB

Jun 9, 2022
Country