• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

New member, need some suggestions/advice

BKScripto

Sep 14, 2009
Hey all, new member and first post here...

I started the great game of golf at the beginning of this summer. I bought a set of semi-used "test" Dunlop clubs off of Flea-Bay for around $90 with bag, just to get started. Didn't want to shed out to much money until I found out if I would like the game or not.

The last time I played 9 holes I shot a 53. The best I've shot is a 52 for 9 holes. I get to practice on the driving range about once every two weeks. I've been playing on the course around 3 times a month.

I'm having some issues that are getting frustrating out on the course. Hopefully someone can shed some light. I'm a total newbie to this stuff so bare with me, please.

My major issue is that I'm topping a lot of balls (hitting the top of the ball with the bottom of my club). I'm doing this a lot with my mid-irons, like 5-7. I don't use my 3 and 4 irons much at all, so not sure what the outcome would be. I am topping the ball with my fairway woods (3 and 5) as well. I always use my 3 wood off the tee and never seem to top the ball.

I use to have an issue with raising my head during my downswing, but I seem to have that more under control now...This was confirmed by friends watching my swing. They use to hound me for doing this :)

Now, I'm not sure what I need to do in order to correct this. The one thing that pops in mind and my friends keep saying is get fitted and buy custom clubs. I'm 6'1" and use normal off the shelf sized clubs...I've read that normal clubs are made for the average male that is 5'9".

Could this be a big factor in me topping a lot of balls? It seems logical but want to confirm before committing and buying new clubs.