• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Newbie questions

MrT

Jul 23, 2008
Okay so I'm still kinda new to the game. I have been playing for just under three years now an finally broke 90 the other day. My handicap is 21 and hopefully will get lower this summer.

So have two questions about golf in general:
1. How does that handicap work. Now that I paid to get mine I'm not really sure what it does for me. Does it only come into play when I'm playing in a match? Other than that is it just a measurement of how good/ bad I am?

2. Can someone explain the PGA for me. As far as majors and other events and the differences. What makes a
major a major?

Thanks guys.

rolltherock

Dec 9, 2008
Okay so I'm still kinda new to the game. I have been playing for just under three years now an finally broke 90 the other day. My handicap is 21 and hopefully will get lower this summer.

So have two questions about golf in general:
1. How does that handicap work. Now that I paid to get mine I'm not really sure what it does for me. Does it only come into play when I'm playing in a match? Other than that is it just a measurement of how good/ bad I am?

2. Can someone explain the PGA for me. As far as majors and other events and the differences. What makes a
major a major?

Thanks guys.