• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Nice article on Alice Cooper the golfer

trob

Apr 2, 2006
Thought some of you might enjoy this..

Cooper
The Original Shock Rocker Sports a Four Handicap
23_article_logo

By STEPHEN GROCER, The Wall Street Journal

Alice Cooper, the original shock rocker, was also one of the first rock stars to take to the links. He began golfing seriously almost 25 years ago as a way to cope with alcohol addiction, and has yet to put his clubs down.
"When I started playing, there were no rockers playing the game," Mr. Cooper says. "And when I got good at it, everyone said, 'You don't want everyone to know you play -- this is the establishment game.'"

Today, despite averaging more than 80 shows a year and recording four albums in the past six years, Mr. Cooper plays six days a week and carries a 4 handicap. He recently talked to The Wall Street Journal Online from Belgium, where he was touring, about how he got hooked on the game and some of his memorable moments on the links. (Questions and answers have been edited.)
WSJ: Why did you start playing golf and why are you so passionate about the game?
Mr. Cooper: Everyone I know who started playing golf in rock 'n' roll was addicted at some point. All of us who went through the '60s, '70s, '80s and '90s, and survived, were addicted to something at some point. For me it was alcohol. An alcoholic's worst enemy is really having too much time on his hands.