• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

say it's so!!!

daddymack

Mar 27, 2005
I just read a thread where it seemed to imply that so sets of clubs don't get as much loft as others. Is it true that all 56 degree wedges are not created equal?

I'm new to the game but i have never been able to get the ball up high. I at the point where it gets in the air but not nearly like some others do. I mean I have read a ton of books and my form and technique is textbook ( At least in my mind), just not a lot of loft.
I have a pretty cheap set I bought at Dicks 199.00

If this is true it can help me move on to the next step of getting better.

1 of 3 new post.

Bravo

Aug 27, 2004
Well Daddy, sometimes sets of irons will be a bit strong/weak on their lofts - which means they may be 1-2* higher/lower than the "standard" loft for a given club.

Years ago, there were lofts for each numbered iron that were considered to be 'standard' even though no 'published standard' from some sort of sanctioning body existed. It was a De Facto standard. by usage over time.

In the past ten years, companies have bent this definition of standard for a variety of reasons. However, a "given 5 iron" from manufacturer to manufacturer should be No more than 1-2 degrees different. Its not like you are goingto get a 5 that plays like a 3 or a 7...

It is almost universal in new players - that they have a problem getting the ball airborne. I dont know why but I have seen it a thousand times...

Do Not worry about equipment being your problem. Don't think that buying a new set of clubs will solve it. I could take your Dicks starter set and hit shots over trees, houses and small office buildings.

Get lessons...practice...play...lessons. For many players here, the season has just begun.