• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

tall golfer question...

phatheadaf

Jul 20, 2008
So I'm 6'3", and I have been playing seriously for about 3 years. I begun to have a dedicated practice routine each week. Today in my practice session I found myself really hitting the ball consistently well by taking a deeper knee bend.

Anybody else, that is a taller player find themself hitting the ball better by taking a deeper knee bend? It feels awkward, but seemed to be effective.

Any thoughts on this?

A.

N.V.M.

now...a cartoon
Sep 27, 2008
i don't think you should have to stand any differently with the proper fitted clubs.

OP
phatheadaf

phatheadaf

Jul 20, 2008
... but for some reason, the deeper knee bend kept my back swing flatter and and enabled me to really strike down on the ball w/o fear of catching it fat or clipping it...

A.

Augster

Rules Nerd
Supporting Member
Mar 9, 2005
It does sound like you are custom fitting YOURSELF to your clubs. Usually you should have your clubs custom-fit to YOU.

Also, the correct amount of knee bend would depend on how little knee bend you had before. Impossible to tell without vids/pics.

But if it works for you and you shoot lower scores, just do it.

SilverUberXeno

El Tigre Blanco
Jul 26, 2005
It does sound like you are custom fitting YOURSELF to your clubs. Usually you should have your clubs custom-fit to YOU.

Also, the correct amount of knee bend would depend on how little knee bend you had before. Impossible to tell without vids/pics.

But if it works for you and you shoot lower scores, just do it.

Nice recognition, Auggie. I was going to state that "deeper" is not a quantified statement because it is relative to what he was doing before. I knew I could count on you ;)