• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Taylor Made Complete Set for Beginner

S

solodelux

I'm a beginner looking to purchase all Taylor Made clubs. I need a set of irons,
3wood, 5wood, and driver. I'm leaning towards the Rac OS2 irons, rescue fairway woods, and either the r5 or r7 driver.

Couple questions from a beginners view:

1.) Do I go steel or graphite?
2.) Do I go flex, stiff, or reg?
3.) On the driver...I was told I should get the R5 (N) driver. But which loft? (8.5, 9.5, 10.5) no clue on this one!

Any suggestions, help, links, would be of much help!
Thanks

obagain

Used club guru
Mar 29, 2005
The start is easy. Graphite in your woods and steel in the irons.

Now the hard part. Without knowing handicap, swing speed and ball flight tendancies I can't suggest anything further.

OP
S

solodelux

Sorry about that guys...
I'm 6ft, 160lbs, med swing speed. Pretty much have the golf basics down but have trouble getting the ball high and long. I also tend to have a pretty nasty slice to the right...but I've been told I'm hitting the ball with an open face.

Slingblade61

Supporting Member
Aug 26, 2004
Obagain.......when are you going to be selling those used clubs?

I'm thinking that a used set of name brand clubs for beginners would be a huge market.....we get alot of these guy's all looking for club reccomendations....sell them a set of pings or something to get them started.

SOLODELUX......Welcome to the board!