• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Tempo is that important?

William Tipton

Apr 24, 2013
Country
United States United States
Ive been messing with improving my tempo and over the last few rounds have noticed that Im having to swing about half as fast to get the same distances. I tee'd off from the longer tees with a 2 hybrid (16*) and then used it for my second shot with a 7 iron to the green (ended up on the back side) 2 days ago. It was a decently long par 5, obviously, but this hole is my arch nemesis and has been since I started playing a little less than two years ago. I think Ive parred it maybe one time, although I can bogey it regularly.

Does it make sense that better tempo = not having to put as much energy in for the same result?
I still dont have a really firm grasp on what creates distance, apparently. All that 'club head speed' talk makes me think 'swing as fast as possible' but most of the time that ends up with a shorter ball heading into the pond or trees.

When I slowed down to what felt like sleep walking speed the ball went the same distance or maybe even further than when I try to crush the sleeve off of the ball and with a LOT more accuracy and consistency...and it seems to have cured those topped shots where I pull up.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

eclark53520

DB Member Extraordinaire
Supporting Member
Dec 24, 2007
South Central Wisconsin
Country
Given the same contact, more speed means more distance.

Most of the time swinging harder means poor contact. Which kills distance.

OP
William Tipton

William Tipton

Apr 24, 2013
Country
Given the same contact, more speed means more distance.

Most of the time swinging harder means poor contact. Which kills distance.