• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Thoughts on a half set for new golfer?

luc9488

Feb 18, 2012
Hey Guys,

I'm new to golf, just getting into the game and would really like to know everyone's opinion on starting off with a half set of clubs. My thoughts are both it will be less costly to start off with and I will get to know each club better.

Here is the config I have been thinking about: 3W, 4, 6, 8, PW, SW or 3W, 3, 5, 7, 9, PW (and a putter with both)

What do you think? Is there another configuration I should be considering?

Thanks.

nututhugame

Winter Sucks!
Supporting Member
Dec 29, 2008
Southeast Wisconsin
Country
United States United States
Good luck finding a half set of clubs (irons that is). You're not going to have someone sell you a half set for less money. My suggestion is to look through the classifieds here. You'll have to buy a complete iron set and then the rest you could put together as you see fit, (woods, hybrids, wedges, driver, and putter). You could put together a decent set pretty cheap that would have at least some resale/trade value.

The other option would be a place like Hireko or Valuegolf where you can buy individual irons and all other clubs. All said and done though you wont be much cheaper than buying a used complete set of irons and playing the ones you want for now. Plus when you do find the need for the other irons you'll have them if you buy a complete iron set.

Oh yeah, welcome to Shottalk. Stop by the Now On The Tee section and let us know a little about yourself.

eclark53520

DB Member Extraordinaire
Supporting Member
Dec 24, 2007
South Central Wisconsin
Country
I like the idea, but I do see a couple draw backs.