• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Today was the weirdest golfing day of my life

LyleG

gear head
Aug 10, 2006
Country
Canada Canada
This was one of those days I will never forget, for a couple of reasons. I set 2 personal records today, both of which I am 100% can never be broken. A little about the how the day began. The wind was brutal, 25mph gusting to 40mph, it was cold as hell and the tendinitis in my left shoulder was killing me. A took a few Aleve this morning and by the time I tee'd off I was feeling OK.
So heres a few stats.

Fairways 14/14
GIR 0/18

Yep, that aint a typo.

I hit every fairway today, I have never done that before, closest I have ever come was missing 2. I was hitting my 9* dct with a graman ul780 today (S flex tipped 1 inch). I picked this driver this morning as it has the most boring trajectory of any club I own. I was striping it all day. In the wind, down wind, cross wind, it didnt matter. I hit driver on 11 of the 14 holes and was not once more than 5 yards from the center line. My ave distance had to be a good 275 as well so I wasnt just chipping them out there. It really was a freakish day of the tee.

This however is where the good times ended. The thing was I was hitting my irons real, real solid. I just could never get a feel for the wind and distance today off the fairway. The funny part about not hitting a green was that I really didnt hit a bad iron shot. They would just drift a little left, or a little right, be a hair long or a hair short. I was in 14 greenside bunkers today. I pretty much wore out my sand wedge. I got up and down a lot today and was pretty happy overall.

Shot a 7 over 79 which I was tickled pink with all things considered.

chemboy2

M634
Supporting Member
Sep 23, 2004