• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Wanted to Say "Hi!"

winders

Sep 23, 2006
Hey folks!

My name is Scott and I am 45 years old and live in the San Jose area of Northern California. I was born and raised in Pasadena, CA. I am 6' 3" and weigh 215 lbs.

I played a little bit of golf in high school and a for a while after I graduated. Nothing real serious and certainly not on a regular basis.

I've been shooting Skeet (more expensive than golf!) for the last 3 years but decided that I should spend more time with my wife so I have picked up her game (obviously golf).

My old clubs, purchased in the late 70's or early 80's, are Wilson X31 irons and Staff driver, 3 wood, 5 wood, and a Ping Pal putter.

I bought some new clubs last week. I went in to a shop and spent a long time hitting a variety of clubs and getting fitted. I tried a variety of Ping, Taylormade, Callaway, Wilson, Nike, Nickent, and Cleveland game improvement irons. The irons I hit the best and liked the feel of the best were the Nike Slingshot Tour irons with the stiff steel shaft. I need them and an inch longer and +2 degrees lie.

I tried a bunch of drivers from many of the same companies. The one I hit the best was the Taylormade (R7?) 425. That was until the Nike SQ 460 Tour with Diamana 83 shaft was put in my hands. I got that club for a great price. I like the Nike SQ 4 wood and the Nike Slingshot Hybrid (17 degrees) too. I also got a Nike SV 56 degree wedge. I will end up with either a 52 or 60 degree SV wedge as well.

I ended up with a Scotty Cameron Studio Style Newport 2 (35"). I wasn't really planning on buying such an advanced and expensive putter, but I got really lucky on an eBay auction and got a brand new one still in plastic for a very good price.