• Welcome To ShotTalk.com!

We are one of the oldest and largest Golf forums on the internet with golfers from around the world sharing tips, photos and planning golf outings.

Registering is free and easy! Hope to see you on the forums soon!

Wedges

GunnerMan

Jun 7, 2005
Hello, my first post. I have been golfing now for about 3 years never taken a lesson in my life just picked it up from frieds, and watching people. Anyways I have got my swing down good now and can get it going the right direction and can hit it farther than any one I play with. So I have become a decent golfer for just going out and doing it. I picked up a set of knock off clubs for 120 bucks thew out the drivers got some low profile woods made for me and I love them, use them off the tee and on the fairway. Now here is where my problem comes in, I get a good drive then I try and put it on the green with say a 5 iron. Well we all know it dosent always go on the green sometimes it lands short, goes in the sand, in the rough, or you overshoot. Well im here with my 120$ set with nothin but a Pitching Wedge, well this is a VERY bad club for short shots that need to just stop or getting out of a bunker. So I figered its time to go pick up some wedges as I belive with them it will knock at least 10 strokes off my score. I am looking for a Sand Wedge, Gap Wedge, and Lob wedge. The courses I play on are generally dry and I never learned how to take a divot so if I try here my club stops in its tracks. So I am looking for some wedges that do well sweeping the grass more than diggin it. Keeping this in mind I do not want to go buy 70 dollar a club Clevelands. So is it possible to find a cheaper alternative such as a generic brand or Wilson etc that can get me some decent results. Id like my budget to be about 35-40$ a club. Anything to look for?
Thanks A Bunch

CKGuY914

simplicity vs complexity
Apr 8, 2005
here's a set of Nike forged wedges that includes a Gap, Sand and Lob wedge for $140.